在迪拜购买房地产的公司

可以在迪拜购买房产的公司类型取决于房产所在地,公司所有者的国籍和公司结构。 外国公司购买房产的限制已经提高,以牢记反洗钱立法。

4第7号法律(“法律”)关于迪拜酋长国房地产登记的第2006条规定,非阿联酋国民可以在统治者确定的某些地区购买房产。

3第2006号条例(以下简称“条例”)确定了迪拜酋长国的非阿联酋国民房产所有权领域,提供了23指定的被批准用于购买非阿联酋国民的指定免费保有区域(“指定区域“)。 随后的规定包括进一步的指定区域。

第4条的措辞规定,外国人是非阿联酋国民或非海湾合作委员会国民。 但是,“非阿联酋国民”在法律或法规中尚未定义。 该法律含糊不清导致“非阿联酋国民”的解释包括个人和公司。

根据我们最近对迪拜国土部门(DLD)法务部门的调查以及我们的实践经验,我们发现目前以下类型的公司可以在指定地区购买迪拜的房产:

  • 不论股东的国籍如何在迪拜境内注册的公司(如私人股份公司或有限责任公司);
  • 在迪拜金融市场上市的公共股份公司;
  • 在迪拜成立的免税区公司无论股东的国籍如何(只要提交所需文件),但DIFC公司需要得到DLD的特别批准; 和
  • 无论股东的国籍如何,杰贝阿里自由区离岸公司都是如此。

值得注意的是,DLD目前关于公司购买房产的政策尚未正式公布,并可能随时更改。

在2011之前,该法律的模糊性被解释为包括在迪拜以外成立的外国离岸公司(包括英属维尔京群岛和开曼群岛)购买房产。

在2011中,由于滥用境外离岸公司进行洗钱等犯罪活动,DLD禁止以境外公司的名义进行注册。

阿联酋有关反洗钱的立法是4的联邦法律第2002号,关于将洗钱定为犯罪,修订的是9的联邦法律第2014号(“新的反洗钱法”)。 38的内阁决议第2014号规定,新的反洗钱法适用于所有金融机构和其他受监管机构,例如由中央银行或证券和商品管理局以外的实体许可和控制的机构,包括非金融活动和包括真实在内的专业。房地产经纪人。 内阁决议制裁控制当局以强制遵守新的反洗钱法。 在这方面,DLD有资格成为房地产经纪人监管和合规以及房地产交易监管的控制权。

新“反洗钱法”第2条规定 '尽管完全知道这些资金来源于犯罪或轻罪,但有下列行为之一的人应被视为洗钱行为人:如果他将转移,存款,储蓄,投资,交换或管理任何行为收益,意图隐瞒或掩饰其非法来源......”

对于房地产来说,新“反洗钱法”中“资金”的含义不仅指货币,还指任何资产,包括不动产。 值得注意的是,在资产方面开展的活动包括“投资”。

结论

在迪拜购买房产之前,买方寻求迪拜律师的意见很重要,以确保对买方施加的任何限制和清理资金的必要要求进行了必要的尽职调查。 如果买家没有进行尽职调查并签署谅解备忘录或买卖协议,并且后来发现本文中提到的限制,买家应该意识到丢失存款的风险。

Companies Buying Real Estate in Dubai

The type of company that can purchase property in Dubai is dependent on where the property is located, the nationality of the owner of company and the structure of the company.   The restrictions on purchase of property by foreign companies has been heightened to keep in mind the anti-money laundering legislation.

Article 4 of Law No. 7 of 2006 (the “Law”) concerning Real Property Registration in the Emirate of Dubai enables non UAE nationals to purchase property in certain areas as determined by the Ruler.  

Regulation No. 3 of 2006 (the “Regulation”) determining Areas for Ownership by Non-UAE Nationals of Real Property in the Emirate of Dubai, provides a list of 23 designated free hold areas approved for purchase of non UAE nationals (“Designated Areas”). Subsequent regulations have included further Designated Areas.

The wording of Article 4 stipulates that a foreigner is a non UAE national or non GCC national.  However, ‘non UAE national’ has not been defined in the Law or Regulation. The ambiguity in the Law has resulted in the interpretation of ‘non UAE national’ to include individuals and companies.

From our recent enquiries with the legal department of the Dubai Land Department (“DLD”) and our practical experience we have found at present the following types of companies can purchase property in Dubai in the Designated Areas:

  • Companies incorporated onshore in Dubai (e.g. private joint stock companies or limited liability companies) regardless of the nationality of the shareholders;
  • Public joint stock companies that are listed on the Dubai Financial Market;
  • Free zone companies incorporated in Dubai regardless of the nationality of the shareholders (provided that required documents are submitted) but DIFC companies require a special approval from the DLD; and
  • Jebel Ali Free Zone off shore companies regardless of the nationality of the shareholders.

It is important to note that the DLD’s current policy regarding purchase of property by a company is not formally published and is subject to change from time to time.  

Prior to 2011 the ambiguity in the Law was interpreted loosely to include purchase of property by foreign offshore companies incorporated outside of Dubai, including British Virgin Islands and Cayman Islands.  

In 2011 the DLD prohibited registration in the name of foreign off shore companies, due to misuse of foreign off shore companies for criminal activities, such as money laundering.

The UAE legislation in regard to anti money laundering is Federal Law No.4 of 2002, concerning criminalizing of money laundering amended by Federal Law No.9 of 2014 (“the new AML Law”).  Cabinet Resolution No. 38 of 2014, states the new AML Law is applicable to all financial institutions and other regulated institutions such as those licensed and controlled by entities other than the Central Bank or Securities and Commodities Authority including non-financial activities and professions including real estate brokers.   The Cabinet Resolution sanctions Control Authorities to enforce compliance with the new AML Law.  The DLD would qualify as a Control Authority in this regard for the regulation and compliance by real estate brokers and supervision of real estate transactions.

Article 2 of the new AML Law provides ‘whoever commits any of the following acts, despite being fully aware that such funds are derived from an offence or a misdemeanor, shall be deemed as a perpetrator of money laundering: if he converts transfers, deposits, saves, invests, exchanges or manages any proceeds, with intent to conceal or disguise the illicit origin thereof…’  

In regard to real estate the meaning of ‘funds’ in the new AML Law refers not only to money but any assets including non-moveable property. It is notable that activities carried out in respect to assets include ‘investing’.

Conclusion

Prior to buying property in Dubai it is important that the buyer seeks advice from Dubai lawyers to ensure that the required due diligence has been conducted in regard to any restrictions imposed on a buyer and the necessary requirements to clear funds. Buyers should be aware of the risk of losing deposit monies if they sign a Memorandum of Understanding or Sale and Purchase Agreement without conducting due diligence and later discover the restrictions mentioned in this Article.